EU award recognises product safety innovation and excellence

EU funding opportunities

The EU Product Safety Award is organised by the European Commission to reward companies putting consumer safety at the heart of their business. The Award is a prestigious recognition for those who innovate and go beyond the requirements set out in relevant EU legislation and standards.

For 2021, there are two thematic categories:

  • Protecting the safety of vulnerable consumer groups. This category focuses on the efforts to protect consumer groups that are vulnerable when it comes to product safety, e.g., because of their age (children and the elderly), physical or mental disabilities or conditions, or other personal or socio-economic characteristics. This may include consumer products and awareness-raising or other initiatives
  • Combining safety and new technologies, which focuses on the use of new technologies to enhance consumer safety. This may include for example: Internet-connected and AI-based consumer products and processes or mechanisms incorporating new technologies.

The same initiative can be submitted only in one thematic category.


The Award will be granted to two different types of beneficiaries:

  • Micro, small or medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)
  • Larger companies

It is envisaged that there will be up to 12 winners in total, with gold, silver and bronze awards granted to three SMEs and three larger companies under each of the two thematic categories.

The Award ceremony will take place on September in Brussels, where winners will share their best practices with industry stakeholders and product safety experts. The winners may use the logo and branding of the Award to promote their position as product safety champions without prior approval of the Commission. No financial contribution will be given to the winners.

The Commission will promote the rewarded practices through its website, social media, dedicated brochure and any other appropriate channels.

The deadline to submit the proposals is 30 April 2021. More information and the official documentation are available here

Related Articles

Back to Top