New European Bauhaus Prizes 2023

EU funding opportunities

Estimated time of reading: ~ 1 minute  

The European Commission has launched nominations for the third edition of the New European Bauhaus Awards.

The New European Bauhaus is the initiative launched in 2020 by the Commission that combines the values of sustainability, inclusiveness and aesthetics to contribute to the realization of the European Green Deal. It is a creative and interdisciplinary movement aimed at fostering and driving the green transformation of our societies and improving the quality of life of people and living spaces.

This year’s competition aims to reward 15 exemplary initiatives that express the core values of the New European Bauhaus. It is characterized by two novelties: a section focusing on education and learning has been introduced to be in line with the European Year of Skills; applications from the Western Balkans as well as EU states will be accepted.

As for the previous edition, also for the 2023 edition the Prizes awards existing projects and young people ideas in four categories, which reflect the thematic axes of transformation envisaged by the New European Bauhaus:

  • Reconnecting nature;
  • Regain the sense of belonging;
  • Prioritizing the places and people who need it most;
  • The need for long-term, life-cycle thinking in the industrial ecosystem. 

For each category, 3 parallel competition sections are established, namely:

A. New European Bauhaus Champions, dedicated to ongoing or already completed projects with clear and positive results;

New European Bauhaus Rising stars, dedicated to concepts or ideas presented by young talents up to 30 years of age. Concepts and ideas can be found at different stages of development, from ideas with a clear design to the prototype level;

C. New European Bauhaus in education Champions, dedicated to projects and initiatives in the field of education and learning. Both completed projects and initiatives with a minimum level of maturity are eligible.

Individuals and organisations from both the EU and third countries may participate in the competition, provided that the proposed project, concept or idea is implemented in the EU or the Western Balkans.

The competition will award a total of 15 prizes. For each section of each category a jury of experts will select a winner, for a total of 12 winners. In addition, by public voting, an additional winner will be selected for each section, for a total of three winners.

All winners will receive a monetary prize and a communication package offered by the Commission that will help them further promote their initiative.

The prize amounts to:

  • 30,000 euros for the winners of the sections “New European Bauhaus Champions” and “New European Bauhaus in Education Champions”,
  • 15,000 euros for the winners of the section “Rising stars of the New European Bauhaus”.
  • Applications must be submitted online via the dedicated platform. The deadline is 31 January 2023, 19:00 (CET).
  • Official documentation can be found here

Written by: Margherita Genua

Related Articles

Back to Top