The Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for journalism

EU funding opportunities, Senza categoria

Estimated time of reading: 1 min

The call for applications for the Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for Journalism is open until 31 July 2022.

The Prize, established by the European Parliament in 2020 in homage to the Maltese investigative journalist and blogger committed to the fight against corruption who was murdered on 16 October 2017, aims to be an annual recognition for journalism of excellence that promotes and defends the fundamental principles and values of the EU, such as human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and human rights.

Individual journalists or teams of journalists of any nationality may compete for the Prize, submitting in-depth investigations that have been published or broadcasted by media based in one of the 27 EU states in the period from 1 September 2021 to 31 July 2022. Works can have one or more authors. Candidates must be the authors and holders of the copyright and moral rights of their works. Applications may be submitted by the authors themselves or, on their behalf, by professional organisations and associations in the media sector. A journalist or a team of journalists can participate with more than one work. In this case, they will have to submit a separate application for each contribution.

The winner will be selected by an independent jury made up of representatives of the press and civil society from the 27 EU countries and representatives of the main European journalists’ associations. The winner will be awarded a cash prize of 20,000 euros.

The award ceremony will be held at the European Parliament, in Brussels, in mid-October on the anniversary of the murder of Daphne Caruana Galizia.

For more information and applications on Daphne Caruana Galizia – Prize for Journalism (

Written by: Margherita Genua

Related Articles

Back to Top